RSS Feed

Cinnamon Sugar Roasted Chickpeas

Posted on

Today is the last day of vacation–so sad! We have had such a great holiday with lots of family and friends, and I don’t think either one of us are ready to go back to work! Lucy concurs; nothing beats snuggle time on the couch 🙂

Today we hit the gym with the rest of the New Years Resolutioners and got in a good workout before heading to the mall to finish up some Christmas returns. Among the stops we had to make was Sur La Table, my absolute favorite kitchen store. We had a few ceramic knives that were given to me as a gift last year that had chipped and the store replaced them for free!!

These are seriously great knives and very affordable too. They don’t need to be sharpened because they are made out of ceramic and they are our go-to knives for everything! Definitely recommend them.

Seth decided to try a new bubble tea stand that was in the mall. He is a big fan of new and “different” drinks (aka drinks that most people would never think to order). This particular tea was mango flavored and had chewy tapioca balls in the bottom. Kind of weird if you ask me but he loved it!

Can you see the balls going up the straw? Sick.

While he drank his bubble tea I had the new Chocolate Dipped Coconut Luna Bar for lunch. AMAZING. Seriously tasted like an almond joy. I highly recommend this-my previous Luna bar fav was the chocolate raspberry flavor but this definitely replaces it. And with 9 grams of protein and 3 grams of fiber, you can’t beat it!

Now we are back home and savoring the last few hours of relaxation. While catching up on blogs and watching the PSU bowl game (such a disappointment), I made these Cinnamon Roasted Chickpeas that I saw a few weeks ago on Two Peas and Their Pod. In an effort to have some healthy snacks around here, I thought I would give these a try!

Here are the ingredients you need:

  1. 1 Can of chickpeas, 15 oz
  2. 2 tablespoons of cinnamon sugar mixture
  3. 2 teaspoons of canola oil
  4. 1 tablespoon of honey

To start, you want to rinse the chickpeas in water to get the salt and starch off of them.

The chick peas have a sort of “membrane” on them which is optional to take off or leave on. You can see what the outer covering looks like in the pic below.

I wasn’t sure if it would matter taste-wise, so I decided to make half with the shell on and half with it off. Once you rinse the chickpeas, you combine them with the oil and cinnamon sugar mixture in a bowl and lay them on a pan in a single layer.

You roast them for about 35 minutes at 375 degrees, toss them with the tablespoon of honey, and let them get hard. They were delicious! I think I preferred the ones without skin because they got crunchier and tasted less like an actual chickpea. These were very easy to make and I’m looking forward to snacking on them this week!

If you want the printable recipe, head on over to Maria’s site.

Honey Cinnamon Roasted Chickpeas

2 responses »

  1. Yummy! It;s my last day of holiday too – bad times. Luckily, I have two days off after tomorrow :D. I never remove the shall, because I simply can’t be bothered, plus I’ve never discerned a difference. Perhaps that’s because I generally use them in a different way to this.

    Reply
  2. These look like such a great afternoon treat… almost like dessert… without the chocolate!

    Reply

Share your thoughts!

