RSS Feed

The Wonders of a Registry

Posted on

I’m going to start this post off by saying this: Everyone should have a registry, all the time.

Being engaged myself, and seeing several friends get married in the past few years, I’ve learned to appreciate the convenience and awesomeness that is a Registry.

Case in point: This Christmas, Seth and I received a few gifts off of our registry and it was AWESOME. My Maid of Honor bought us a quesadilla maker that we registered for and we used it the next three days in a row. It was love at first dilla.

My mom bought us our crockpot, which you already know I’m in love with. It’s one of the few kitchen appliances that asks very little of you and gives back so much more.

And then there’s my brother. He’s a 19 year old boy with little money and even less of an idea of what to get his big sister for a gift. Enter the bundt pan, also found on the registry.

These days, you can register almost anywhere including cool places like Anthropologie, Amazon or Dick’s Sporting Goods. It’s not just china and silver anymore! I mean think about it. We all have that person (or persons) in our lives that we dread shopping for over the holidays. Either you don’t see them very often, you don’t know them very well, or they already seem to have everything. How great would it be if you could just go to a centralized place (like myregistry.com) and pick things out that they would love to receive as gifts and BAM, you can check one more thing off of your holiday to-do list.

I’m using myregistry.com for the wedding and I love it because I can pick one thing here and one thing there and the guests can see it all in one place.

Now I know some of you may be thinking that this takes the art out of gift giving. But wouldn’t you rather receive a gift that you want and can honestly be excited about unwrapping than having to fake excitement and secretly hoping for a gift receipt?

I mean face it, we’ve all felt like this at some point..

Okay I’m done.

Tomorrow we’ll talk about food again, I promise!

Share your thoughts!

